The Grove Homeowners Association, Inc.

Annual Meeting

June 13, 2024

Meeting Minutes

The 2023 Annual Meeting was held on June 13 at The Grove Clubhouse. Board President Matt Chafin called the meeting to order at 6:31 pm. Board Members Amy Vincent, Eric Drum, and Jason Scheer were present. Community Manager Jo Mendoza was present.

- **I. Welcome:** Matt Chafin welcomed the board and HOA members.
- **II. Roll Call and Certification of Proxies:** 311 owners represented in person or by proxy. At least 184 of the lot owners were needed to establish a quorum (25% of 736). There were 15 households present.
- **III. Proof of Notice of Meeting:** Jo Mendoza certified that notices were mailed on May 8, 2024, in accordance with the minimum 10-day notice requirement in VAPOA.
- **IV.** Approval of Minutes of 2023 Annual Meeting: Minutes were approved with 282 votes for, 4 votes against.
- **V. Introduction of Candidates:** Amy Vincent and Eric Drum. No nominations from the floor.
- VI. Election of Board Members: A motion was made to accept those nominated by acclamation by Amy Vincent and seconded by Jason Scheer. Voting Results: 272 votes for Amy Vincent, 278 votes for Eric Drum.
- **VII. President's Report:** Matt Chafin delivered the President's Report.
- **VIII.** Treasurer's Report: Eric Drum delivered the Treasurer's Report.
- IX. Unfinished Business: None.
- X. New Business:
 - A. **IRS Resolution:** Jo Mendoza presented IRS Resolution and it was approved by the membership. 286 votes to approve and 3 votes to disapprove. IRS resolution passed.
 - B. **Member Comment:** There were 11 homeowners present during the Questions & Answers portion of the agenda.
 - 1. Carolyn Grimes, Krim Point
 - a) Question about non-responsive ARC requests and what happens at time of sale if a project moves ahead without approval. Jo Mendoza will reach out to impacted homeowner.
 - b) Noted that there is no requirement in The Grove bylaws for an annual or semi-annual audit. As of 2018, Board has ordered a full audit every five years and a financial review every year.
 - 2. Sylvia Warner Scotter Hills.
 - a) Asked what was being done about delinquent accounts now that we are not checking pool passes. Matt Chafin replied that Board is relying on collections attorneys.
 - 3. Rodney Martin, Gravity Hill

- a) Asked for follow-up on audited financials for 2023 and when it would be delivered. Also asked for resolution about missing funds, interest, and notice of material weakness. Matt Chafin has reached out to the auditor to notify them that we are considering changing management companies. We have not gotten an answer regarding timelines as of yet. Funds are back in account, and interest has been repaid. Board is seeking additional remedies from Associa Community Group.
- 4. Ruth Mcclintock, Scotter Hills
 - a) Commented about audit issues and asked if we were looking for a new management. Matt Chafin noted that we are currently looking for a new management company.
- 5. Harris Sinclair, Krim Point
 - a) Suggested that we purchase a flag and flagpole and conduct pledge of allegiance for future meetings. Matt Chafin agreed.
- 6. Ann Moore, Scotter Hills
 - a) Asked if we had an outside auditor. Matt Chafin confirmed that we do have an outside auditor and will send copy of communication that was sent to Associa Community Group to any attendee that requests it.
 - b) Noted she never receives a year-end copy of the HOA financial statements.
 - c) Asked who is responsible for paving roads. It is VDOT. Amy Vincent suggested every community member submit requests to VDOT as often as possible. The more people that submit requests, the more likely we receive a response.
- **XI.** Adjournment: There being no further business, a motion was made to adjourn the meeting at 7:15pm by Amy Vincent and seconded by Eric Drum.
- **XII.** Organizational Meeting: Meeting conducted following the Annual Meeting. The Organizational meeting decided the officers for the upcoming year and directors' positions are as follows:

President: Eric Drum
Vice President: Amy Vincent
Treasurer: Matt Chafin
Secretary: Jay Scheer
Director: Phillip Greer